Sneak peek, Behind the Scenes at my new desk space in Kingston-Upon-Thames

Hello my friends,  How are you all?

June_Sees_Blog_freelance_illustrator_movinginto_studio_06_Fotor

Apologies for the lack of posts  on  the blogger sphere and social media. It is all for a very good reason…

I have moved into my new Studio Space! 💃

Yes, I  have moved from  Courtyard Studio in Central London because I realised how much I wanted a desk space to myself. Also,  the 95 mins+ of commuting into London  and coming home very late was taking its toll on me.  So I have  learnt  how  realistically  far I can stretch myself.  Without it affecting my health and creativity.

June_Sees_Blog_freelance_illustrator_movinginto_studio_02_Fotor

Sorry, my desk is a mess! My desk space is a work in progress.

The  desk share at Courtyard Studio was a good experience for me. The brief time I was there, I fully embraced it. It was a taste of having a designated studio space to differentiate  my home and my work.  To be honest, the desk share I would recommend highly if you live closer to the Studio space or  if you are working part-time and freelance alongside.

Even though last summer I was working  a zero hours job, I realise which career path I wanted to spend more working on.

So, I kick started  the year as a full-time freelancer and found  myself a local-ish studio space from Cheam.

June_Sees_Blog_freelance_illustrator_movinginto_studio_04_Fotor

I treated myself to the most beautiful Year Planner (2 colour screenprint) by Crispin Finn.

I have moved into the Little Yellow Duck, a digital  agency based in Kingston Upon Thames.

I also adopted a daily fitness regime, because I am noticing  my wrists were clicking and aching, also just how unfit I am.   So I had to take action; 20-40 mins exercise each day and eating clean (attempting to anyway!)
My workplace setup  is a work in progress. I can’t wait to get properly settled in.

I’m sharing with three talented freelancers who are all guys. Yep, I’m the only girl in the agency!  Seriously,  they are a lovely bunch of lads.

Kingston is a lovely area too. With the riverfront and lots of nice independent  shops to pop into. If you are ever in Kingston upon Thames, pop by and visit me.

What do you think of the space? Have you  rented out a studio space?

June_Sees_Blog_freelance_illustrator_movinginto_studio_05_Fotor

When I viewed the Studio and saw the Jean Julien posters, I knew the guys have good taste.

2 thoughts on “Sneak peek, Behind the Scenes at my new desk space in Kingston-Upon-Thames

  1. It’s crazy how bad or good a freelance lifestyle can be. You really have to push yourself to remember to eat healthy and exercise or you can easily just end up working instead. I forget to eat lunch while wrapped up in work all the time then make terrible food choices later. It sounds like you have worked out a good balance! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my post 🙂 At first it was hard to manage my time and adjust to the freedom of structuring your day. I have forgotten to eat my lunch too, being engrossed in a project or illustration. I try my best to have a balance and to be honest, I fall wayside! I had 3+ Chocolate biscuits today!

      I reflect when there is an interim or quiet period and now I getting into the habit of meditating to reduce worry and stress levels. There are days when I feel like I haven’t done enough and overwork myself to the ground. Meditation helps me feel grounded. How do you structure your day? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

